Remembering Lakshman

Of all the hostel messes I have eaten (and, I have eaten in quite a few of them — nearly for fifteen years, continuously, in one after another), A-mess at Indian Institute of Science (IISc) is the best. The IISc A-mess is the best not only because of the quality of the food served (which was near impeccable), but also because of the people who served it. Those were the people who would feel bad if some of the students went without vada for their breakfast. Those were the people who never begrudged staying beyond the mess hours. Those were the people who politely but firmly told the new student who made the mistake of picking up the water jug in the right hand (with which he was eating his chapatis) that he should never do that, ever, again.

Lakshman was originally not part of the A-mess crew, but we knew about him through our friends at B-mess. A few years later, after some bureaucratic juggling, Lakshman ended up in A-mess; soon, he became pretty popular with us, the diners, and a leader to whom the other mess-workers turned to when they faced any crisis.

Lakshman remembered the individual tastes and preferences of all the diners; once in a while, he would make suggestions : “I know you do not eat parathas; but, today they are very good, Sir. So, why not try a couple”. The parathas were indeed great, and I would end up eating a couple more than Lakshman’s recommendation. And, Lakshman would notice too, if you are missing from the mess for any length of time.

After the relocation of A-mess to a new building, the dining system was changed to buffet type; however, that did not stop Lakshamn from serving us, because, at some level, I think he enjoyed it the most. So, during the peak hours, you can see him standing next to the buffet table, giving suggestions, exchanging greetings, and serving the diners, with a smile.

It was men like Lakshman whose services went beyond the call of duty that made A-mess the place it was — a home away from home, a surrogate home, and the only mess where I felt at home, literally.

This morning, I received the sad news from a friend of mine at IISc that Lakshman passed away (as a result of some traffic accident — that curse of Bangalore). I join the diners (past and present) of A-mess in mourning for him. He will be missed (and is, in some sense, irreplaceable); and, he will also be remembered, by many of us, at far off places, for years to come.

So long Lakshman, and thanks for all the kindness!

Update: From Shencottah’s tribute to Lakshman, I learn that

He died in a van accident. His wife and daughter died too.

May their souls rest in peace.

Update 2: Via Abi, I got a link to the accident news story in the Hindu.

Update 3: Shencottah manages to find a photograph of Lakshman (from the look of it, looks like the one Lakshman used for his Institute identity card).

Tags: , ,

14 Responses to “Remembering Lakshman”

  1. gaddeswarup Says:

    Guru,
    This gives me an opportunity to mention the kindness of a waiter I used to know in Hyderabad in the early sixties. It was my second attempt to get a university education (first time I found the courses meanigless and was kicked out due to lack of attendance), this time without my father’s support. Money was tight and I was young and hungry. When I had some money, I used to go to a restaurant near Hyderabd YMCA. After a while, one of the waiters became friendly,discerned my financial condition and offered that I could eat using his account and pay him when I had money. I spent almost two years relatively hunger free because of his kindness. I do not even remember his name; I was too immersed in mathematics. I am still surprised at the kindness of the poor that I have seen in India until I left in the 80’s. A recent post by Shanta Devarajan offers a clue:
    “I left Champaben’s house with a renewed appreciation of how both markets and governments have failed poor people; how poor people are essentially helping each other; and how they do so with charm, grace–and humor. I want to go back.”

  2. Guru Says:

    Dear Swarup,

    Thanks for the pointer and sharing your experiences.

    You are right; in more than one instance, I experienced the kindness of strangers — I especially vividly remember one instance which brought tears to my eyes. We were back from a trek in the Manali region; we were lounging near a tea shack on the grass, pretty tired from our trek. We saw a very old (the word I would use is ancient) lady carrying some firewood; she saw us, and asked where we went; when we mentioned the place to which we trekked, she couldn’t help laughing that such a small trip would wear us out so much. Immediately after that, however, she offered us some tea if we went with her to her home. It certainly fits the bill of helping with charm, grace and humour — more so, because at her age and financial conditions, even to make such an offer to the ten or so of us is such a great thing to do. Well, those are the times when one remembers the lines from Tagore’s Gitanjali:

    Thou hast made me known to friends whom I knew not.
    Thou hast given me seats in homes not my own.
    Thou hast brought the distant near and
    Made a brother of the stranger.

    Or, Ruskin Bond’s dictum that every stranger is a brother unless proven otherwise.

    PS: I have edited your comment a bit so that the link would correctly point to the piece. Hope that is OK with you.

  3. Sudhir Says:

    Hi Guru,

    This is indeed a sad event! I remember his pleasent smile fondly.

  4. Guru Says:

    Dear Jaan,

    That is true; nobody who ever dined in A or B mess when Lakshman was around can forget him, or his smile, I suppose.

    Guru

  5. Phaniraj Says:

    Its shocking Guru, to say the least.
    He was the type who made everyone feel special. As Sudhir rightly pointed out, he had an endearing smile.
    Often the only one serving untill the last student, especially on the puri day in B-mess.
    After ME, we are supposed to officially sign out of mess. I think, we myself and Ashish, had to take somehelp regarding the register. liked the pen that Ashish had used to sign and asked if he could keep it. That pen was dear to Ashish, but he could not but submit to his childlike wish.
    The other day (in 97) i saw him vigourously smoking a beedi in the kitchen while waiting for the chapatis to be ready. He used to sweat profusely but more in the head; it used to trickle onto his forehead and he would often be seen using the small towel to wipe it off while serving!
    Now you know how finicky i am, but it suprises me that i could smile these things off. I think only Lakshman could carry it off.
    And…so many memories associated with him…

  6. Guru Says:

    Dear Praj,

    I always thought that someday I would go back to IISc (like Vilupanur Ravi — you remember his trip to A-mess?), and dine in A mess just for an afternoon or evening — and say Hi to all those people — Unni, Achar, and others; it makes me really sad to think that probably, when I go back, I would not meet many familiar faces 😦

    Guru

  7. Srikanta Says:

    This is really sad news! Lakshman will be missed by one and all who ever had a chance to be in B-/A-mess of IISc.

    I got to know Lakshman from B-Mess where his grin and quick chat was always made the toughest chapatis to taste. For a guy (me) who had no prior experience in student hostels/messes he made me feel extremely comfortable from almost the first day!

    Srikanta

  8. amar Says:

    Hi,

    I also studied in IISc and I think I remember him as I too used to eat in A-mess.
    I was very irregular in eating (only used to eat breakfast and late dinner). He used to enquire about me. Also, when I used to come for the lunch on sundays, he used to serve me extra masala-dosa and encourage to take extra ice-cream.

    Can you please post a picture of him?

    amar

  9. Guru Says:

    Srikanta, Amar:

    Thanks for stopping by and sharing your thoughts.

    Amar,

    I would love to post a picture of him; but, unfortunately, I do not have one with me.

    Guru

  10. Venkatesha Prasad Says:

    Hi,

    I was the Mess President and due to that I knew all the people in the Messes. I came to know about this from Aditi just now. It is so sad that persons like Lakshman are taken away from us so early but all the white collar corrupt fellows being still there.

    I remember him as a very gentle and a humane person. He used to smile always even when the pressures during the peak hours used to be a killer. Usually, almost all students would go to A Mess around 1PM or 8.30PM even then Lakshman and his fellow workers used to help.

    I learnt a lot from those people in my life. I cherish whatever little company I had with him.

    I am really really SAD.

    -vp

  11. Guru Says:

    Dear Venkatesha Prasad,

    Thanks for stopping by and sharing your thoughts.

    Guru

  12. kots Says:

    Guru, I am late but I felt very sad I heard it from Phani. I always recall how Raghavan (Praj’s cousin) and I discussed about him once in a while. In fact, in 2003 Raghavan has asked me to handover some chocolates to him when I was going from Leuven to Bangalore. Btw, I met Lakshman in A mess on October 10, 2007 in my last visit to IISc and had a chat with him when I went to mess to dine along with Prasad et al. Very unfortunate.

  13. Guru Says:

    Dear Kotts,

    Nice to know that you had a chat with him; he was a great guy. Pity we wouldn’t meet guys like him and Prof. Venkatappa any more, when we go back to the Institute.

  14. B. Ravichandran Says:

    L eaving an indelible mark after death
    A fter serving all through length and breadth
    K indness is the god-sent driver
    S hown to us by a semi-literate server
    H appy to serve and happy to love
    M any you cannot find anymore now
    A ll said and all done, he continues to live
    N iche in our hearts, share, grow and give

Leave a comment