On Current Science

Current Science is the first science journal that I read (during my B Sc days); though I enjoyed reading (and, more importantly, could follow) book reviews and excerpts (like this review(pdf) and this excerpt(pdf) of Andre Weil‘s The Apprenticeship of a mathematician (pdf)), and personal reminiscences (like this one about Pancharatnam (pdf)), once in a while, I tried to read some of the scientific correspondence too. Later, I was a regular reader of the editorials of Prof. Balram and the many pedagogical pieces of Prof. N Mukunda. Of course, Prof. Ramaseshan on Raman-Krishnan fall out, and Prof. Bhaskaran on Prof. Krishnan’s writings in Tamil, the special issue on Prof. S Chandrasekhar, tributes to Srinivasa Ramanujan, Prof. Anna Mani and Prof G N Ramachandran are some of the most memorable Indian science history that I have ever read; and, I read them all from the pages of Current Science.

In a recent editorial in Current Science (pdf) (and an accompanying article with Riki Krishnan (pdf)) Prof. Balaram traces the history of the journal on the occasion of the 75th year of its publication; and, more specifically, tells us about the role of the first editor of the journal Prof. C R Narayan Rao. Take a look!

Leave a comment