Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie’s Americanah

This is the first novel by Adichie that I have read. I think I have read one of her short stories (and liked it too: it is about growing up in a university campus, if I remember correct).

This is a very nice novel. Part 7 is the one I liked the best. The ending is not satisfactory. I also felt that the sections with Ifemelu as the narrator are much better written than those where Obinze is the narrator. I did find the novel sagging a bit somewhere in the middle.

NPR reviewer said this about the novel:

…  Americanah, which is as capacious, absorbing and original a novel as you will read this year.

I agree; very, very strongly recommended (and there is an Indian edition for about Rs. 400/-). Have fun!

One Response to “Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie’s Americanah

  1. Jayan Says:

    Haven’t read this.. The first book was very good , “Half of the Yellow Sun”, on the Biafra issue. The rest were mediocre. Will try this one..

Leave a Reply

