Serialist: a good read

I learnt about David Gordon’s serialist via Jenny. I too loved the book.

Here is how the book starts:

The first sentence of a novel is the most important, except may be the last, which can stay with you after you’ve shut the book, the way the echo of a closing door follows you down the hall. But of course, by then it’s too late, …

The whole book at some level is about books and reading:

… I found I was able to squeeze out a living, while literature languished, writing pulps for the nerdy and the perverse: when books become a fetish, only fetishists will still read books.

The book keeps bringing the reader’s attention to the way a mystery book is constructed as the mystery itself unfolds, which is one of the reasons I loved the book.

Let me recommend the book by quoting a few lines from the last chapter:

I don’t know about you, but I hate coming to the end of a mystery. … I prefer the beginning to the end. I  love the mystery and am vaguely let down by the solution.

Have fun!

Leave a Reply

